Loss of game saves


Everybody remembers what happened in March 2008, right? All the games saves for old games were erased when Nitrome switched over to their new server hosting. I’ve heard of this happening with people and their computers 9and I’m happy this hasn’t happened to me). Sadly, this tragic event has happened once again, well for me at least. All the game saves for recent games (and probably for old games) has been erased.

So, what was the cause of the erasing? A system flaw? Serving swapping? I’m not even sure myself. Is there anything we can do to get our saves back? Probably not. This is dreadful for people who have gotten far in a hard game (Jack Frost, Twang, Canary, etc.). If you have gotten far in a Nitrome game that is hosted on another site (Miniclip, Bubblebox, MTV Arcade, etc.), your save will have not been erased, unless something else that happened on that site caused the game saves to be erased.

10 Responses to Loss of game saves

  1. IUHoosiersFan (Cheesemeister) says:

    I can’t tell you how many times this has happened to me. However, this has not happen to me for a while. Luckily, since the last it did happen to me, I was able to rebeat some of the hard Nitrome. And though it may seem disappointing that you lost your game saves, I have to tell you that games are easier the second time trying to beat it. If I were you, I would go and give some of those games a try, and see how far you can get.

  2. kj says:

    NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! MY GAME WAS ERASED! ONLY ON RUSH!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    IT TOOK MY 14 WHOLE MUNUTES FOR ME TO GET TO LEVEL6! (even though i personally dont like rush…)

    ….. really… I lost no progress ๐Ÿ™‚ just putting the pepper on your nose:)

  3. Tobie says:

    They renewed the Nitrome facebook page, there are 9 nitrome game characters below the nitrome logo now, does anyone recognise the top right one? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I don’t actually, might be a hint for a new game :] (it’s in black & white unlike the others, that might hint that it’s from that’s not out yet as well)

  4. Tobie says:

    Oh, and this is what the blog looks like a millisecond before it’s fully loaded: http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/4554/blogkb.png

  5. kj says:

    MY computer is so slow, that it takes 2 minutes for it to load off that screan!

  6. Jayem says:

    I didn’t lose any game saves luckily :). There is a new blog post out, with news of a new sequel. The image is really pixelated, but I think from the shape of it is one of those tiny images of a game you get on the homepage and the main games pages. I had a brief look and the colours are similar to those from the Small Fry image, but who knows…

  7. Ah! No way! I was working hard on Roly Poly. And The Bucket…Awggghhhhh, it’s going to take me FOREVER to beat that again! =D Ah, well. Guess that’s life.

